Consistory 2012:the names

Pope Benedict having just ordained the new nuncio to Ireland, just after the Angelus announced the names of 22 new cardinals today for a consistory that will be held on 18 February. Eighteen of the 22 are to be electors. In order they are:
  • Fernando Filoni, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples
  • Manuel Montiero de Castro, major penitentiary of the Apostolic Penitentiary
  • Santos Abril y Castello, archpriest of the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Antonio Maria Veglió, president of the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Refugees
  • Giuseppe Bertello, president of the Pontifical Commission for the State of Vatican City & president of the Governatorate of the Vatican City State
  • Joao Braz de Aviz, prefect of the Congregation for the Institutes of Consecrated Life and the Societies of Apostolic Life
  • Francesco Coccopalmerio, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts
  • Edwin Frederick O’Brien, pro-grand master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre
  • Domenico Calcagno, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See
  • Giuseppe Versaldi, president of the Prefecture of the Economic Affairs of the Holy See
  • George Alencherry, major-archbishop of Erkugnalam-Angamaly of the Syro-Malybars
  • Thomas Christopher Collins, archbishop of Toronto
  • Dominik Duka OP, archbishop of Prague
  • Willem Jacobus Eijk, archbishop of Utrecht
  • Giuseppe Betori, archbishop of Florence
  • Timothy Michael Dolan, archbishop of New York
  • Rainer Maria Woelki, archbishop of Berlin
  • John Tong Hon, bishop of Hong Kong
Non electors:
  • Lucien Muresan, major-archbishop of the Romanians
  • Mgr Julien Ries
  • Fr Prosper Grech OSA
  • Fr Karl Josef Becker, SJ
The same thing happened this time as last time, namely that the order of creation on the biglietto was not in order. Strictly speaking Braz de Aviz should come second on the list, similarly O’Brien should come third.
Obviously a huge number did not make the list, Vincent Nichols, John Dew, Braulio Rodriguez Plaza, and Peter Takeo Okada to name but a few. No new residential cardinals-designate were announced from either Latin America or Africa despite a plethora of candidates.
Not only that Reinhard Cardinal Marx’s “reign” as the youngest member of the College will end on Consistory day when Rainer Maria Woelki of Berlin becomes the youngest member of the College having just been installed in Berlin in July last year at the tender age of 55.
What is also obvious is the domination of curialists on the list to the detriment of residential bishops.

2 Responses to “Consistory 2012:the names”

  1. Curia talk and cardinals « Order and Tradition Says:

    […] After that the choice is seemingly endless, but Latin America and Asia should feature after this year’s Italian and European dominated list. Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. November 2012 consistory « Order and Tradition Says:

    […] impression that the decision to hold the consistory is rushed. In the February consistory that was announced on 6 January, Benedict had appointed Maunel Monterio de Castro the previous […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: